

# **Special Governing Board Meeting Minutes - approved 8.15.24**

July 11, 2024

In-Person Location: None - see note re ACT 78 below.

Attendees: See attached list.

5:35 pm

## Role Call & Agenda Review

### **Update on Merger Analysis**

 Discussion Summary: NIck explained that this vote to continue the merger process or not needs to happen tonight because of the BEAD application timeline. There are insufficient resources to prepare multiple BEAD applications pending the August vote. The Executive Committee has not met since the latest information has been gathered and synthesized so they don't have a formal recommendation.

# Motion to Approve the Continuation of the Merger Process -tabled to enter Executive Session

Motioned: Nick Anzalone	For	Against	Abstain
Seconded: Mary Metcalf			
Motion: To approve the continuation of the merger process	s		
with the understanding that staff is going to proceed as if			
we are merging in order to work on integration, BEAD			
preparation, partnerships, negotiations, and other			
important business. A yes vote indicates that you will be			
present and voting yes at the final vote on August 15, 2024			
barring the presentation of new information.			

### **Executive Session to Discuss Merger**

Entered 5:42 pm

Motioned: Evan Carlson Seconded: Sally Vallat	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: To go into Executive Session under the provisions of 1 VSA §313 with staff, contractors, and Colleen Morris to discuss merger of NEK Broadband and CVFiber, finding that premature disclosure could substantially disadvantage the CUD if it were to be made public at this time.	Passed with no objections	0	0

Jennille Smith entered during executive session at 5:45pm. Mike Gaiss entered at 5:47pm. David Mannix entered at 5:48pm. Paul Fixx entered at 5:48pm Terrence Curran entered at 5:50pm. Laura Emery entered at 6:02pm. During executive session, David Mannix left at 5:49pm. Jennille Smith left at 5:49pm; Peggy Stevens left at 6:13pm. Lynette Deaette left at 6:14pm. Bill Davis left at 6:20pm, and Jonathan Baker left at 6:33pm. Executive Session was exited at 6:34pm.

### **Motion to Approve the Continuation of the Merger Process**

Motion was moved: Rob Dewees Seconded: Sally Vallat	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: To approve the continuation of the merger process with the understanding that staff is going to proceed as if we are merging in order to work on integration, BEAD preparation, partnerships, negotiations, and other important business. A yes vote indicates that you will be present and voting yes at the final vote on August 15, 2024 barring the presentation of new information.	34 See voting record in attendance below	0	0

The following Governing Board Representatives were unable to be present for the Roll Call vote but indicated that they would have voted "yes" - Peggy Stevens, Jonathan Baker, Bill Davis and Larry Labor.

## Adjourn at 6:43 pm

Motioned: Mary Metcalf Seconded: Noah Armstrong	For	Against	Abstai n
	Passed with no objections	0	0

**Drafted by Kitty Ufford-Chase, Clerk** 

Name	Member Town	Туре		Roll Call	Time Left		
				6:35 PM		Voting	38
Rob Dewees	Albany	Primary	V	YES		Present	8
Neil Glassman	Barnet	Primary	V	YES		Staff	4
Nate Nugent	Bloomfield	Primary				Guest	3
Michael Strait	Brighton	Primary					
James Ozone	Brighton	Alternate	V	YES		quorum is 26	
Noah Bond	Brighton	Alternate					
Amber Hastings	Brownington	Alternate					
William Davis	Brownington	Primary	V		6:20		
David Caron	Brunswick	Primary					
Theresa Caron	Brunswick	Alternate					
Patricia Vanderhoop	Burke	Primary					
Ann Morgan Wade	Canaan	Primary	V	YES			
Frank Sawicki, Jr	Canaan	Alternate					
John Kellogg	Charleston	Alternate					
Peggy Stevens	Charleston	Primary	V		6:13		
Bill Humphrey	Concord	Primary					
Charles Conn	Coventry	Primary	V	YES			

Phil Marquette	Coventry	Alternate				
Rudy Chase	Craftsbury	Primary	V	YES		
Brian Machesney	Craftsbury	Alternate	Р			
Jonathan Baker	Danville	Primary	V		6:33	
Bob Kelley	Derby	Alternate				
<b>Grant Spates</b>	Derby	Alternate				
Lindsay Brainard	Derby	Alternate				
David Barlow	Derby	Primary	V	YES		
Noah Armstrong	Glover	Primary	V	YES		
Hadley Piper	Glover	Alternate	Р			
Sheryl Brown	Granby	Alternate				
Sonia Peters	Granby	Primary	V	YES		
Mary Metcalf	Greensboro	Primary	V	YES		
John Stone	Greensboro	Alternate				
Terrence Curran	Groton	Alternate	Р			
Mike Gaiss	Groton	Primary	V	YES		
John Orlowski	Guildhall	Alternate				
Richard Schiller	Guildhall	Primary	V	YES		
Paul Fixx	Hardwick	Primary	V	YES		
Ed Brady	Holland	Primary	V	YES		

Andrew						
Bouchard	Holland	Alternate				
Lynnette Deaette	Jay	Primary	V		6:14	
Le-Ann Tetrault	Jay	Alternate				
Tara Morse	Jay	Alternate				
Dana Caspersen	Kirby	Primary	V	YES		
Malcolm Doak	Kirby	Alternate	Р			
William Gilbert	Lemington	Primary	V	YES		
Beth Ellingwood	Lemington	Alternate				
Marjorie Kramer	Lowell	Primary				
Faye Starr	Lowell	Alternate				
Harry Williams	Lunenburg	Primary	V	YES		
Gary Briggs	Lunenburg	Alternate				
Marty Feltus	Lyndon	Primary	V	YES		
Jack Donnelly	Maidstone	Primary	V	YES		
Eric Pope	Morgan	Primary				
Larry Labor	Morgan	Alternate				
Ben Tilford	Newark	Primary	V	YES		
Mark Whitworth	Newark	Alternate	P			
Chris Vachon	Newport City	Alternate				
Woodman Page	Newport City	Primary	V	YES		
David Ghelli	Newport Town	Alternate				

Wendy	Newport					
		Duine				
Matthews	Town	Primary	V	YES		
Sally Vallat	Norton	Primary	V	YES		
_		_				
Jock Gill	Peacham	Primary	V	YES		
OOCK OIII	Cachani	i iiiiai y	٧	ILS		
Karen Lewis	Peacham	Alternate				
Shawn						
Burroughs	Ryegate	Primary	V	YES		
Danioagno	ryoguto		•	120		
Tolon Doldman	December	A 14 4 -				
Tyler Pokines	Ryegate	Alternate				
Annie McLean	Sheffield	Alternate				
Nicolas						
Anzalone	St Johnshum	Drimon		VEO		
Anzaione	St Johnsbury	Primary	V	YES		
<b>Colleen Morris</b>	St Johnsbury	Alternate	P			
Evan Carlson	Sutton	Primary	V	YES		
Lvan Ganson	Outton	1 Illiai y	V	IES		
David Tucker	Sutton	Alternate				
Robert Simms	Sutton	Alternate				
Gaston						
	T	Duine and				
Bathalon	Troy	Primary	V	YES		
Robert						
Langlands	Troy	Alternate				
_anglanas		ritorriato				
A so the account O a Labo	UTO-	A 14 4 -				
Anthony Soldo	UTGs	Alternate				
<b>David Conley</b>	UTGs	Primary	V	YES		
_		-				
Seth O'Brien	Walden	Primary	V	YES		
Cour o Direir	Talacii	. I iiiiai y	٧	ILO		
D:II D: · · ·	Materia :	A14		\		
Bill Piper	Waterford	Alternate	V	YES		
Mike Barrett	Waterford	Primary				
Carrie Glessner	Westfield	Primary				
Carrie Glessiler	vvestileiu	rilliary				

Laura Emery	Westfield	Alternate	V	YES		
Ray Lanier	Westmore	Alternate	Р			
Donna Dzugas	Westmore	Primary	V	YES		
Linda Michniewicz	Westmore	Alternate				
Eileen Boland	Wheelock	Primary	V	YES		
David Stahler Jr.	Wheelock	Alternate	Р			
Bruce Wheeler	Wolcott	Primary				
Christa Shute	NEK Broadband		S			
Danielle Sukkaew	NEK Broadband		S			
Denise Sullivan	NEK Broadband					
Kitty Ufford-Chase	NEK Broadband		S			
Tonya Ozone	NEK Broadband		S			
D. L. Oberesse	On the Manual					
Deb Shannon	Consultant		G			
Jennille Smith	CVFiber		G			
David Mannix	CVFiber		G		5:49	