

Governing Board Meeting Minutes

February 8, 2024

In-Person Location: None - see note re ACT 78 below.

Attendees: See attached list.

5:34 pm

Role Call & Agenda Review - 2 Min

Public Comment - 2 Min

None

Consent Agenda - 1 Min

• Approval of Meeting Minutes

Motioned: Morgan Wade Seconded: Sally Vallat	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to approve the Consent Agenda.	24	0	0

Updates

Executive Committee Action Review & Affirmation

Motioned: Morgan Wade Seconded: Dana Caspersen	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: that the Governing Board affirms receipt and confirmation, with no proposed revision or alteration, of the Executive Committee Actions document.	25	0	0

Discussion- Proposed Revision

1-18-24 Motion: NEK Broadband will provide a \$30 discount to every current ACP participant when the program expires. Motioned: Michael Strait (Carried 8-0)

Motion to amend the Executive Committee Action Report to indicate the \$30 discount is monthly.

Motioned: Kathleen Monroe Seconded Morgan Wade

Partnership Updates

5:40pm

Motioned:William Davis Seconded: Kathleen Monroe	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to go into Executive Session with staff and consultants to discuss the partnership and grant update, finding that premature disclosure could substantially disadvantage the CUD if it were to be made public at this time.	25	0	0

David Barlow and Richard Schiller entered during executive session Left executive session at 6:08 pm no action was taken

Christa left at 6:08

HR Consultant Process

Deb Shannon reviewed her work with the staff.

Gaston Bathalon entered at 6:10

2024 Governing Board Meeting Schedule and Highlights

Paul reviewed the document.

Town Meeting Day Preparation Update

Paul reminded everyone that Kitty is the point person for any town meeting day needs.

CVFiber Memorandum of Understanding

Entered Executive Session at 6:25 pm

Motioned: Morgan Wade Seconded: William Davis	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to go into Executive Session with staff, consultants, and CVFiber guests to discuss the CVFiber Memorandum of Understanding, finding that premature disclosure could substantially disadvantage the CUD if it were to be made public at this time.	28	0	0

Jennille Smith, Executive Director of CVFiber entered during executive session

Board Members Sally Vallat, Rudy Chase, and Jonathan Baker, Kathleen Monroe and Rudy Chase left during executive session

Lost quorum during executive session Left at 7:09pm

Drafted by

Shannon LaCasse, NEK Broadband, Clerk

Name	Member Town	Туре			
Rob Dewees	Albany	Primary	v	Voting	28
Kathleen Monroe	Barnet	Alternate	p	Present	3
Neil Glassman	Barnet	Primary	v	Staff/Vendo r	6
Amy Crouch	Barton	Alternate		Public	0
Christopher Altmius	Barton	Primary			37
Nate Nugent	Bloomfield	Primary			
Michael Strait	Brighton	Primary	v	23.5	
James Ozone	Brighton	Alternate			
Noah Bond	Brighton	Alternate			
Amber Hastings	Brownington	Primary			

William Davis	Brownington	Alternate	V	
David Caron	Brunswick	Primary		
Theresa Caron	Brunswick	Alternate		
Todd Vendituoli	Burke	Primary		
Ann Morgan Wade	Canaan	Primary	v	
Frank Sawicki, Jr	Canaan	Alternate		
John Kellogg	Charleston	Alternate		
Peggy Stevens	Charleston	Primary		
Bill Humphrey	Concord	Primary	v	
David Barlow	Coventry	Primary	v	
Phil Marquette	Coventry	Alternate		
Rudy Chase	Craftsbury	Primary	v	
Brian Machesney	Craftsbury	Alternate		
Katherine Sims	Craftsbury	Alternate		
Jonathan Baker	Danville	Primary	v	
Bob Kelley	Derby	Alternate		
Grant Spates	Derby	Alternate		

Karen Chitambar	Derby	Primary			
Noah Armstrong	Glover	Primary			
Hadley Piper	Glover	Alternate	v		
Sheryl Brown	Granby	Alternate			
Sonia Peters	Granby	Primary			
Mary Metcalf	Greensboro	Primary	v		
John Stone	Greensboro	Alternate			
Terrence Curran	Groton	Alternate	p		
Mike Gaiss	Groton	Primary	v		
Zac Conaway	Groton	Alternate			
John Orlowski	Guildhall	Primary			
Richard Schiller	Guildhall	Alternate	v		
Paul Fixx	Hardwick	Primary	v		
Ed Brady	Holland	Alternate	v		
Andrew Bouchard	Holland	Primary			
Ari Smith	Irasburg	Public			
Lynnette Deaette	Jay	Primary			

Le-Ann Tetrault	Jay	Alternate		
Tara Morse	Jay	Alternate		
Dana Caspersen	Kirby	Primary	v	
Malcolm Doak	Kirby	Alternate		
William Gilbert	Lemington	Primary	v	
Beth Ellingwood	Lemington	Alternate		
Marjorie Kramer	Lowell	Primary		
Faye Starr	Lowell	Alternate		
Harry Williams	Lunenburg	Primary		
James Peyton	Lunenburg	Alternate		
Marty Feltus	Lyndon	Alternate	v	
Jack Donnelly	Maidstone	Primary		
Eric Pope	Morgan	Primary	v	
Larry Labor	Morgan	Alternate		
Ben Tilford	Newark	Primary		
Mark Whitworth	Newark	Alternate	v	
Chris Vachon	Newport City	Alternate		
Woodman Page	Newport City	Primary		

David Ghelli	Newport Town	Alternate		
Wendy Matthews	Newport Town	Primary	v	
Sally Vallat	Norton	Primary	v	
Cheryl Shepherd	Norton	Alternate		
Jock Gill	Peacham	Primary		
Shawn Burroughs	Ryegate	Primary		
Nelson Elder	Ryegate	Alternate		
Annie McLean	Sheffield	Alternate		
	Sheffield	Primary		
Nicolas Anzalone	St Johnsbury	Primary		
Evan Carlson	Sutton	Primary		
David Tucker	Sutton	Alternate		
Robert Simms	Sutton	Alternate		
Gaston Bathalon	Troy	Alternate	v	
Robert Langlands	Troy	Primary		
Anthony Soldo	UTGs	Alternate		
David Conley	UTGs	Primary		

Seth O'Brien	Walden	Primary	V		
Bill Piper	Waterford	Primary			
Mike Barrett	Waterford	Primary			
Carrie Glessner	Westfield	Primary	v		
Laura Emery	Westfield	Alternate			
Ray Lanier	Westmore	Alternate	р		
Donna Dzugas	Westmore	Primary	v		
Linda Michniewicz	Westmore	Alternate			
Eileen Boland	Wheelock	Alternate	v		
David Stahler Jr.	Wheelock	Primary			
Bradley Horstman	Wolcott	Alternate			
Bruce Wheeler	Wolcott	Alternate	v		
Lee Willette	MBI				
Matt Hubbard	MBI				
Mike Reed	MBI				
Christa Shute	NEK Broadband		s		
Danielle Sukkaew	NEK Broadband		s		

Kitty Ufford-Chase NEK Broadband Shannon LaCasse NEK Broadband Serik Townsend NEK Broadband Jason Stebbins NEK Broadband Mandy Montroll NEK Broadband General Council Heather Alger NEKCA - ACP Andrew Gaidys NRTC Steve Crossman NRTC Kurt Gruendling WCVT Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant Series Jennille Smith CVFiber Series S	Denise Sullivan	NEK Broadband			
LaCasse NEK Broadband S Erik Townsend NEK Broadband S Jason Stebbins NEK Broadband S Andy Montroll NEK Broadband General Council Heather Alger NEKCA - ACP Steve Crossman NRTC NRTC NRTC NRTC NRTC NRTC NRTC NRTC		NEK Broadband	s		
Jason Stebbins NEK Broadband Andy Montroll NEK Broadband General Council Heather Alger NEKCA - ACP Andrew Gaidys NRTC Steve Crossman NRTC Kurt Gruendling WCVT Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant S SERVE STEVE COUNCIL S		NEK Broadband	s		
Andy Montroll NEK Broadband General Council Heather Alger NEKCA - ACP Andrew Gaidys NRTC Steve Crossman NRTC Kurt Gruendling WCVT Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant S SERVE COUNCIL STREET	Erik Townsend	NEK Broadband			
Andy Montroll General Council Heather Alger NEKCA - ACP Andrew Gaidys NRTC Steve Crossman NRTC Kurt Gruendling WCVT Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant s	Jason Stebbins	NEK Broadband			
Andrew Gaidys NRTC Steve Crossman NRTC Kurt Gruendling WCVT Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant s	Andy Montroll				
Steve Crossman NRTC Kurt Gruendling WCVT Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant s	Heather Alger	NEKCA - ACP			
Crossman NRTC Kurt Gruendling WCVT Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant s	Andrew Gaidys	NRTC			
Roger Nishi WCVT Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant s		NRTC			
Todd Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant s	Kurt Gruendling	WCVT			
Garthaffner WCVT Deb Shannon Consultant s	Roger Nishi	WCVT			
		WCVT			
Jennille Smith CVFiber s	Deb Shannon	Consultant	s		
	Jennille Smith	CVFiber	s		