

# **Governing Board Meeting Minutes**

October 14, 2023

In-Person Location: Vermont State College- Moore Community Room

Attendees: See attached list.

10:07 am

## Role Call & Agenda Review - 2 Min

## Public Comment - 2 Min

None

### <u> Consent Agenda - 1 Min</u>

• Approval of Meeting Minutes

Motioned: Morgan Wade Seconded: Mary Metcalf	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to approve the Consent Agenda.	30	0	0

## **Updates**

### **Executive Committee Action Review & Affirmation**

Motioned: Dana Caspersen Seconded: William Davis	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: that the Governing Board affirms receipt and confirmation, with no proposed revision or alteration, of the Executive Committee Actions document.	30	0	0

### **Celebrating Progress & Appreciation**

Morgan, Paul, and Christa reviewed the committees and the members and gave recognition to Morgan and Evan for their dedication to the organization. Morgan will step down from the executive committee and as vice chair effective today.

Motioned: Morgan Wade Seconded: Mary Metcalf	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to appoint Sally Vallat to the executive committee	30	0	0

## Partner Fireside Chat

10:29 am

Motioned: Evan Carlson Seconded: Mary Metcalf	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to go into Executive Session with staff and consultants to discuss the Partner Fireside Chat finding that premature disclosure could substantially disadvantage the CUD if it were to be made public at this time.	30	0	0

11:01 Ben Tilford Left

12:03 exited executive session No action was taken.

#### Lunch Break

12:05 Andy Montroll entered 12:12 Evan Carlson left 12:37 John Stone left 12:50 Steve Crossman left

## Audit Results and 2024 Budget Approval

Denise reviewed the 2024 budget for approval

Motioned: Morgan Wade Seconded: Mary Metcalf	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to approve the draft budget for presentation to the public for comment and consideration.	29	0	0

## Partnership Update/Grant Strategy and ETC Discussion 1:00pm

Motioned: Morgan Wade	For	Against	Abstain
Seconded: Marty Feltus			
Motion: to go into Executive Session with staff and	29	0	0
consultants to discuss the Partnership Update and Grant			
Strategy as well as the ETC discussion finding that			
premature disclosure could substantially disadvantage the			
CUD if it were to be made public at this time.			

1:20 Marjorie Kramer entered online1:28 John Stone entered online

1:47 exited executive session No action was taken

Motioned: Morgan Wade Seconded: Paul Fixx	For	Against	Abstain
Motion: to authorize the Executive Director to submit a petition in substantially the same form as presented by the NEK Broadband attorney to the Public Utilities	30	0	0

Commission to seek a non-dominant Eligible Telecommunications Carrier status.		

1:52 Shawn Burroughs left

### **Customer Journey**

Kitty, Julia, and Kurt walked through the steps the customer experiences starting with registering with Crowd Fiber and ending with installation.

2:00 Larry Labor entered online
2:01 James Peyton left
2:13 William Gilbert entered online
2:15 Evan Carlson entered online
2:17 Seth O'Brien left
2:30 Woodman Page entered online
2:43 John Stone left online
2:45 Peggy Stevens left
3:00 Marjorie Kramer left

### Stan Williams (Guest Speaker)

#### **Closing Remarks**

Paul and Chirsta recapped the day. Paul reminded board members to take the time to fill out the meeting survey that was sent today via email.

## **New Business**

## **Other Business**

## Adjourn 3:14

	For	Against	Abstain	
--	-----	---------	---------	--

Motioned: Mary Metcalf Seconded: Morgan Wade			
Motion: to adjourn at 3:14	26	0	0

• **Discussion Summary:** no discussion was held.

## Drafted by

## Shannon LaCasse, NEK Broadband, Clerk

Name	Member Town	Туре			
Rob Dewees	Albany	Primary	v	Voting	33
Kathleen Monroe	Barnet	Alternate	p	Present	6
Neil Glassman	Barnet	Primary	v	Staff/Vendo r	17
Amy Crouch	Barton	Alternate		Public	1
Christopher Altmius	Barton	Primary			
Nate Nugent	Bloomfield	Primary			
James Ozone	Brighton	Alternate	V		
Michael Strait	Brighton	Primary			
Noah Bond	Brighton	Alternate			
Amber Hastings	Brownington	Primary			
William Davis	Brownington	Alternate	V		

David Caron	Brunswick	Primary	
Theresa Caron	Brunswick	Alternate	
Todd Vendituoli	Burke	Primary	
Ann Morgan Wade	Canaan	Primary	<i>v</i>
Frank Sawicki, Jr	Canaan	Alternate	
John Kellogg	Charleston	Alternate	
Peggy Stevens	Charleston	Primary	<b>v</b>
Bill Humphrey	Concord	Primary	
David Barlow	Coventry	Primary	<b>v</b>
Phil Marquette	Coventry	Alternate	
Brian Machesney	Craftsbury	Alternate	
Katherine Sims	Craftsbury	Alternate	
Rudy Chase	Craftsbury	Primary	
Jonathan Baker	Danville	Primary	V
Bob Kelley	Derby	Alternate	
Grant Spates	Derby	Alternate	
Karen Chitambar	Derby	Primary	

Hadley Piper	Glover	Alternate	
Noah Armstrong	Glover	Primary	V
Sheryl Brown	Granby	Alternate	
Sonia Peters	Granby	Primary	V
John Stone	Greensboro	Alternate	p
Mary Metcalf	Greensboro	Primary	V
Mike Gaiss	Groton	Primary	
Terrence Curran	Groton	Alternate	V
Zac Conaway	Groton	Alternate	
John Orlowski	Guildhall	Primary	
Richard Schiller	Guildhall	Alternate	
Paul Fixx	Hardwick	Primary	V
Andrew Bouchard	Holland	Primary	
Ed Brady	Holland	Alternate	V
Le-Ann Tetrault	Jay	Alternate	
Lynnette Deaette	Jay	Primary	
Tara Morse	Jay	Alternate	

Dana Caspersen	Kirby	Primary	v
Malcolm Doak	Kirby	Alternate	p
Beth Ellingwood	Lemington	Alternate	
William Gilbert	Lemington	Primary	v
Faye Starr	Lowell	Alternate	
Marjorie Kramer	Lowell	Primary	v
Harry Williams	Lunenburg	Primary	
James Peyton	Lunenburg	Alternate	v
Marty Feltus	Lyndon	Alternate	v
Jack Donnelly	Maidstone	Primary	
Eric Pope	Morgan	Primary	
Larry Labor	Morgan	Alternate	<b>v</b>
Ben Tilford	Newark	Primary	<b>v</b>
Mark Whitworth	Newark	Alternate	
Chris Vachon	Newport City	Alternate	<b>v</b>
Woodman Page	Newport City	Primary	p
David Ghelli	Newport Town	Alternate	v
Wendy Matthews	Newport Town	Primary	

Cheryl Shepherd	Norton	Alternate	
Sally Vallat	Norton	Primary	v
Jock Gill	Peacham	Primary	
Nelson Elder	Ryegate	Alternate	
Shawn Burroughs	Ryegate	Primary	v
Annie McLean	Sheffield	Alternate	
Claire Polfus	Sheffield	Primary	
Nicolas Anzalone	St Johnsbury	Primary	v
David Tucker	Sutton	Alternate	
Evan Carlson	Sutton	Primary	<b>v</b>
Robert Simms	Sutton	Alternate	
Gaston Bathalon	Troy	Alternate	
Robert Langlands	Troy	Primary	
Anthony Soldo	UTGs	Alternate	
David Conley	UTGs	Primary	
Seth O'Brien	Walden	Primary	v
Bill Piper	Waterford	Primary	

Mike Barrett	Waterford	Primary	V	
Carrie Glessner	Westfield	Primary		
Laura Emery	Westfield	Alternate	V	
Donna Dzugas	Westmore	Primary	V	
Linda Michniewicz	Westmore	Alternate		
Ray Lanier	Westmore	Alternate	p	
David Stahler Jr.	Wheelock	Primary	v	
Eileen Boland	Wheelock	Alternate	p	
Bradley Horstman	Wolcott	Alternate	v	
Bruce Wheeler	Wolcott	Alternate		
Caro Thompson	public		public	
Andy Montroll		NEK Broadband General Council	S	
Shannon LaCasse		NEK Broadband	S	
Denise Sullivan		NEK Broadband	S	
Erik Townsend		NEK Broadband	S	

Christa Shute	NEK Broadband	S
Jason Stebbins	NEK Broadband	s
Danielle Sukkaew	NEK Broadband	S
Kurt Gruendling	WCVT	S
Mike Reed	MBI	S
Andrew Gaidys	NRTC	S
Roger Nishi	WCVT	S
Todd Garthaffner	WCVT	S
Lee Willette	MBI	S
Steve Crossman	NRTC	S
Matt Hubbard	MBI	S
Heather Alger	NEKCA - ACP	S
Julia Andrews	Marketing	S